Homeopathy 4 Health

The alternative medical modality of holistic, natural,

safe, individualised, side-effect-free and affordable health care

Hermes once separated two serpents entwined in mortal combat to bring about peace. These serpents were later included in the medical Caduceus as a sign of wellbeing.



















site stats

You are viewing: H4H Monographs - Trauma - Grief & Loss - Level 2
to H4H Monographs - Level 1

H4H Monograph

Grief & Loss

Stages of the grieving process
Stages of the Grieving Process


Anxiety/ Phobia



(breaks & fractures)



Scroll right for pictures of grief  >>>>>>>>>

Grief & Loss

Stages of the grieving process
Stages of the Grieving Process

1. Definition - Grief
Grief is a natural response to loss. It is the emotional suffering one feels when something or someone the individual loves is taken away. Grief is also a reaction to any loss. The grief associated with death is familiar to most people, but individuals grieve in connection with a variety of losses throughout their lives, such as unemployment, ill health or the end of a relationship. Loss can be categorised as either physical or abstract, the physical loss being related to something that the individual can touch or measure, such as losing a spouse through death, while other types of loss are abstract, and relate to aspects of a persons social interactions.

Grief emphasises our vulnerability and the pain reminds us that all life is change, that everything has a beginning and end, that every gain, every new learning experience also entails a loss which is often at the cost of a much cherished belief or position or conviction.

2. The Grieving process
Every step of the process is natural and healthy, it is only when a person gets stuck in one step for a long period of time that the grieving can become unhealthy, destructive and even dangerous. When going through the grieving process it is not the same for everyone, but everyone does have a common goal, acceptance of the loss and to always keep moving forward. In fact, grievers cycle through these stages repeatedly until grieving is mostly completed. I say "mostly completed" because grieving major losses takes time and energy. Anniversaries and holidays are good barometers of how far grievers have come in grieving deaths and divorces.
The various stages of grief can be understood in four different steps.

i) Shock and Denial
Shock is the initial reaction to loss. Shock is the persons emotional protection from being too suddenly overwhelmed by the loss. The person may not yet be willing or able to believe what their mind knows to be true. This stage normally lasts two or three months.


ii) Intense Concern & Anger
Intense concern is often shown by not being able to think of anything else. Even during daily tasks, thoughts of the loss keep coming to mind. Conversations with one at this stage always turn to the loss as well. In many cases the intense inward thought and concentration leads to anger about why it had to happen, their own resulting situation, pinning blame on others for the happening, regrets and self recriminations etc.This period may last from six months to a year.


iii) Despair & Depression
Despair and depression is a long period of grief, the most painful and protracted stage for the griever (during which the person gradually comes to terms with the reality of the loss). The process typically involves a wide range of feelings, thoughts, and behaviors. Many behaviors may be irrational. Depression can include feelings of anger, guilt, sadness and anxiety.


iv) Recovery
The goal of grieving is not the elimination of all the pain or the memories of the loss. In this stage, one shows a new interest in daily activities and begins to function normally day to day. The goal is to reorganize ones life, so the loss is an important part of life rather than its center


3. Reactions
Crying is a normal and natural part of grieving. It is a mechanism in which harmful inner emotional tensions can be safely released. Crying is by no means the only method of tension release. Talking, and physical activity can be others.
Lack of crying is also another reaction which is often the case when the individual feels they must remain strong and protective of others. Although this response tends to bottle up emotions which can eventually impact the individuals health pressing people to cry or retell the experience of a loss or talk about things may also be counterproductive in that
new and frsh tensions are created. The grieving individual must gradually arrive at the point of change of their own volition. This usually happens when people realise that they can live again, that they can still concentrate their energies on their life as a whole and not on their hurt and guilt and pain
The following classification of grieving constitutions has been suggested. 
i) The Nomads
Nomads have not yet resolved their grief and do not seem to understand the loss that has affected their lives.

ii) The Memorialists
This represents those whose are committed to preserving the memory of the loved one or possession that they have lost.

iii) The Normalisers
These individuals are committed to re-creating a sense of family and community.

iv) The Activists
This identity focuses on helping other people who are dealing with the same disease or with the same issues that caused their loved one's death.

v) The Seekers
Here the griever adopts religious, philosophical, or spiritual beliefs to create meaning in their lives


4. Homeopathics for Grief/ Loss
This is the rrontline remedy for grief and shock producing a state of high anxiety. It is the medicine to give when grief happens unexpectedly (out of the blue)and has a high impact. There is often a fear of death and for one's own safety or the safety of others.

Here there is a sense of weakness and exhaustion, of being all gone and wanting to be alone and at peace by oneself. There is a tendency to withdraw into silence with a resentment of questioning and of contact or company.

This is Homeopathys great grief remedy. Best prescribed when the individual cannot come to terms with the loss and is changeable, over sensitive and fearful. Frequently the loss may be suppressed internally resulting in sighing and tears and a general reluctance to discuss the pain.

Most suitable for the individual who cannot bear to be left aloneand is highly nervous, full of fear and totally insecure. Other symptoms include insomnia, waking between 3-5 AM and fear of the dark.

A useful remedy when the individual shows apathy to life and resents all form of consolation. Predominant symptoms include an irritable hopelessness, aggravation by heat, desire or aversion to salt and worse for cold.

The key feature of this remedy is a grief marked by great fatigue/ weakness which is worse in the evenings. Accompanying symptoms are often a dragging down pain or lower back ache and constipatuion. There is apathy to everything and everyone even those who love them best and there is a rejection of any contact.

Other Remedies
Ars, Bapt, Lyc, Naja, Nat-sul, Phos-ac

What should I do next?
Contact Dr. Peter Darashah and discuss your concerns with him.
Should  treatment be advisable a consultation can be readily arranged either
in person or through eConsultation.

Dr. Peter Darashah

Ph.D.,M.Sc (Lond), B.Sc., DIHom (Pract),FBIH, MARH

Nutrition Consultant & Homeopathic Physician

(087) 2621943
Consultations held at:
Dervish Holistic Cebtre, 50 Cornmarket Str., Cork.

   H4H Monograph


Personal grief
Personal grief

Public grief
Public grief

Comforting grief
Comforting grief

Animal's grieve too.
Animal's grieve too

Home | History & Basis | Homeopathics | Worldwide | Your Benefits | Your Consultation | Testimonials & Research |
Criticisms & Replies | News & Views | H4H Monographs | F.A.Q. | Links | Site Map | Who I Am | Code of Ethics | Acknowledgements | Contact